top of page
Search

EP Review: "Happy Birthday Kodak" by Kodak Black


On rapper Kodak Black's 24th birthday (June 11, 2021), he dropped off the EP Happy Birthday Kodak. The short project consists of only four songs and features from Yo Gotti, Jacquees, Rylo Rodriguez, and Lil Keed. The EP comes after his mixtape Haitian Boy Kodak, which was released in May. Will this project deliver some bangers, or will it be a stain on Kodak's promising career? Let's find out.


1. Gleerious


I'm really enjoying the beat on this one, even though Kodak underperforms. I still think he delivered a decent hook and some decent bars. Although it isn't anything special, I'm giving this track a 6.5/10. I'm excited to see if Kodak has some bangers out of these next three teacks.


2. Feelin' Peachy


I can see why Kodak released this as a single alongside the EP. It has a good beat, a catchy hook, and fire verses. It's not as good as other Kodak songs, but it definitely is radio material. I'm giving this track a 7/10.


3. White Toes (ft. Jacquees)


This track is very solid, and is above average for Kodak. Jacquees also snapped with a smooth verse, and Kodak's hook was amazing. The instrumental was also great, and I can see myself putting this song on repeat for a long time. I'm giving this track an 8/10.


4. Amber Rolls (ft. Rylo Rodriguez, Yo Gotti and Lil Keed)


I also enjoyed this track a lot. Kodak had a good verse, Rylo delivered heat, Gotti had an outstanding verse, and although Keed was the weakest out of the four, he still had a good verse. I'm giving this track a 7.5/10, and I'm happy this EP has so many bangers.


FINAL RATING: 7.25/10

BEST TRACK: White Toes (ft. Jacquees)

WORST TRACK: Gleerious


SUMMARY:


I know a lot of people will hate on Kodak instantly. I know people will not like this EP right off the bat. But for me, this whole project was nothing but banger after banger. It seems like Kodak is re-building his place in the rap game after his stint in prison and a not-so-great comeback mixtape. Kodak really delivered with the hooks on this project, and the guest features boosted the songs they were on. All in all, it seems that Kodak is getting ready to ride a high horse back into the mainstream and come back with the hitmaking power he had a few years back.

13 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page